Monday, 22 February 2010

snow and sun

DP and I had a great time playing badminton on Saturday afternoon and have vowed to do it again really soon. We both worked up quite a sweat and were rather stiff the next day. Was a bit naughty yesterday afternoon as at DP's parents again for his sister's birthday, ate lovely roast goose and potatoes and veg - that was all ok, but I did have a bit of gorgeous cake and two glasses of wine. At home later we watched the BAFTAs and ate home made oatcakes with trout pate (I was feeling quite guilty about that but then noticed the pate was made with low fat yoghurt, so it could have been worse). I did feel very sick later, though, so obviously overdid it a bit with the fat somewhere.

Working from home today so scrambled eggs for breakfast. Am off to South Africa for work tomorrow and am hoping the hotels will have a pool so I can swim. Will have to work hard to be good as it is a bit of a press jaunt so being wined and dined in very lovely places. Wish me luck! (I know, poor me...)

Friday, 19 February 2010

urgh

Things have gone a little off-track as I haven't been very well. Was supposed to be going to a Body Attack class (how much fun does that sound? Not much, I hear you cry) on Thursday night, but woke up on Thursday just feeling so grim and tired that I thought maybe I'd go swimming instead. Got to about 11am and realised that instead of feeling better, l was feeling worse and worse. Gave up about 1pm and came home. I had a yoghurt in the morning so I could take the Metformin, and then DP made a lovely dinner of roast pheasant, which I could only eat a few mouthfuls of (to take the other Metformin tablet!) before giving up. Felt a bit better today but incredibly tired - we had a big argument last night over absolutely nothing and I realise that I think I'm feeling insanely hormonal. I wonder if it's because I've given up the Cerazette? Anyway, cried for ages and woke up all puffy eyed and feeling a bit desperate so called in sick. Realised after a bit of a lie in that I actually felt lots better - oh well. Am off on a work trip next week that will mean I'm away from home for most of next weekend so I don't feel too guilty about being off today. I had some toast for breakfast, then we went out for a walk - stopped at a cafe by the river and had tea and cake. I think the sugar was all too much for me, especiallly after not eating much the day before, as then felt very dizzy and sick and had horrid 'Met belly'. Felt ok after dinner, but DP gets really upset as he thinks he should be reminding me to be careful with food...then I feel guilty because I don't want him to be thinking I can't look after myself. Lesson learned, I hope.

To make up for missing exercise on Thursday night, DP and I have booked a badminton court at the leisure centre tomorrow afternoon. And I was hoping to go for a run in the morning but as it's now 4.15am and I can't sleep, I'm a bit doubtful that will actually happen. More likely to turn into a wander to the farmers market and reading the paper over lunch. Oh well.

Tuesday, 16 February 2010

Rambo!

Well, it was weigh-in day today - and I've lost...nothing! Frankly I'm just relieved I haven't put on weight as we had a three course meal last night - a fairly healthy one but not totally healthy. It was a kind of Valentine's treat and a bit of a one off. I'm hoping that next week there will be some difference.

Tonight I went to a boxercise class...I can't believe I paid to be tortured like that! I'm so knackered. But even though I hated it, I'm glad I did it. I am so knackered now though, and I can't imagine how achy I'm going to be in the morning. I've booked a Body Attack class for Thursday night - eek!

Watched One Born Every Minute on Channel 4 again tonight, and it helps to be reminded what I'm working towards. Did get a bit weepy - DP is away at his parents house tonight with the kids, and I felt a bit sad.

I've decided to give up taking the pill from tomorrow. My GP put me on Cerazette after the MC and it's not agreeing with me, I'm bleeding loads. And I want to be able to see how regular my periods are etc before we try to conceive again. I'm a bit nervous about it, but I suppose I could always go back on it if it was a problem.

Monday, 15 February 2010

Monday, Monday

Out in Suffolk for the weekend at my partner's parents house, with the stepkids. We had a lovely time, lots of games and nice food, and I tried hard to be good but I did have a slice of chocolate tart for pudding on Saturday. And last night we had a roast chicken, which was fab - I had loads of veggies too. But I made a big mistake. I had a bit of lemon pudding and some ice cream, and I also had a glass of wine. I took my Metformin with dinner...and then we drove home. (The kids stayed in Suffolk). Big mistake. About halfway back I started getting tummy cramps and feeling sick, ending in us pulling into a service station and me flying into the loo only to throw up on the floor and then spend half an hour on the loo. Bloody met belly. No fun.

So we got home at 11 and I was feeling grim and just went to bed. Still feel a bit wobbly this morning and that scuppered my exercise plan for today so I feel guilty. Can't do anything tonight because I'm doing some training for a new job working from home, on top of my full-time job, so tomorrow's weigh in I suspect might be a bit of a disaster.

Friday, 12 February 2010

bleurgh

Yoga last night was actually really great. It was at a little place run by a husband and wife, I met the husband last night and he was so lovely. Everyone was really friendly and the instructor was great. She said she thinks yoga is perfect for those TTC as it gets you into shape but also relaxes you. Here's hoping. I enjoyed the class a lot more than I expected and I'll definitely be going back. My next class won't be till the 3rd March as they're shut next week and I'm away on business the week after but I'm looking forward to it. Next week I've booked myself into a boxercise class at the leisure centre. Eek.

I was going to get up and skip this morning! But I felt quite poorly. Last night I had horrible sharp pains in my left ovary and I feel really grotty today. Am hoping I'm just a bit tired and I'll perk up later. When I get home I'm planning to do a dance class routine from YouTube. DP will be picking up his kids from London so I'll have time to do it before they get back. I'm not going to do anything exercise-related over the weekend, just have a nice time with the stepkids. Will keep up the healthy eating and exercise on the weekdays.

I've had to set myself some ground rules: having the weekends off is one (unless we don't have the kids, in which case I might do something). And the other is that I must only weigh myself once a week. I had said to myself that I'd only do it on Tuesday mornings (that being the day I began the challenge) but I weighed myself this morning. I'd actually put on 2 lbs! This does seem to happen when I exercise, and everyone says its normal but obviously it's a bit disappointing. So must be stricter with myself and the scales.

I worked out that this challenge will end on Tuesday 4 May. And that's about when we'll be starting TTC again. I really think I can do this, with that goal in mind. I really think I can lose the 5% of my body weight, but it would be so great if I could do 10%. Fingers crossed.

Thursday, 11 February 2010

on the third day...

...I was planning to go and use my skipping rope in the park this morning, but there were some big snowstorms here yesterday and everything was covered in snow this morning. I should have got up and done a YouTube workout. But I didn't. However I have booked a yoga class for tonight - I've only ever done it a few times and I can't say I really enjoyed it. But I would like to be more flexible and I'd also like to do yoga when I'm pregnant so might as well start now. It's going to be weekly, but for one reason or another, there will be a gap between classes of a couple of weeks, so I'm hoping I can pick up a few things tonight I can practise between classes.

I was hungry when I got in from work last night and I crumbled a little bit...last year, the week before my miscarriage, we were burgled. Well, I say burgled - we left the back door unlocked and someone came in and took our bags. It was really horrible, but they didn't take lots of other stuff that was lying around - the police reckon they got disturbed, and in fact because I was still pregnant at the time I was getting up about three times a night to go to the loo, which is downstairs. I did hear some noises, but we live in a terraced cottage and the walls are really thin so I didn't think much of it. Anyway, last week the police called to say our bags had been found in our local park (the one that's about 5 seconds from our house!) The bags were ruined, very damp, and my ipod was gone but pretty much everything was still in it. Including a Cadbury's Boost, which at the time was a big massive craving. It made me a little sad - but we were amused to discover it was fine! When I got home last night, DP had eaten half of it and left me the other half. It would have been rude not to. Wouldn't it?

Wish me luck for yoga - I hope I don't embarrass myself too much.

Wednesday, 10 February 2010

day two - the snow comes

I woke up from a fabulous dream (I took my parents to see Legally Blonde the Musical, and Dolly Parton was there, sitting in front of us!) to the sound of my alarm. I couldn't work out why it was so early, and then I remembered I'd set it for 7.15 so I'd be able to get up and go for a run. Ugh. Peeked out of the window, it wasn't raining, so up I got.

DP was a bit bemused, but encouraging (as he rolled over and tucked himself up in the warm duvet).

I used to run quite a bit when I was a teenager, but apart from training for and doing the Race for Life in 2006, I haven't done any since. I pulled on my trainers and my warm fleecy hat, popped some inspirational music on the iPod, opened the front door, stepped out and...

fell on my arse.

Apparently it was quite icy last night.

Once I'd picked myself up again, I slithered to the park (which is about 5 seconds away from my house) and surveyed the slippery paths. Clearly I couldn't run on them, so I chose to run on the grass. After some stretching I began to do 1 minute running and 1 minute walking, alternately. I had hoped to do 10 minutes - so 5 minutes running and 5 minutes walking - but I couldn't manage it; so just 4 minutes of running and 6 of walking! Just as I was finishing it began to snow and then I had to walk to work in a snowstorm. That might put paid to my plans to skip in the park tomorrow morning (must look out that skipping rope) but I've discovered loads of fitness videos on YouTube so could always do one of them. Me and DP are planning on going swimming tomorrow evening too.

My plan is to try and do at least three bouts of intensive exercise a week throughout the challenge, and more if I can manage it.

We went out for a drink last night and I had a small glass of red wine and then was naughty and had another glass of white with dinner (home made tandoori chicken and rice - kind of healthy? Sadly DP also made onion bhajis, which were too delicious not to eat. Oh well). Trying to only have a couple of drinks a week - I feel awful if I drink much on the Metformin anyway so that does make it easier.

We also watched One Born Every Minute on Channel 4, which was a good reminder of why I'm doing this in the first place...

Tuesday, 9 February 2010

Day One

These are the facts...

It's Tuesday 9 February.

I am 30 years old.

Having had a miscarriage at the end of last year, we are now waiting until we've moved house (April) and till it's a bit later in the year and so no chance of a winter baby. I'm a winter baby and so are my two stepchildren, so I really want to spread it out a bit. Also, I loathe being a winter baby, so it would seem pretty hypocritical to moan about it to my parents all my life and then do the same.

We will be starting to try again in about 14 weeks, so I figure now is a good time to sort myself out.

I'm overweight, and because everyone kept telling me it would take ages to conceive, I thought I'd have time to lose weight before getting pregnant. But I got pregnant straight away! So this time I'd like to be a bit fitter.

I am currently 212 lbs. I've lost about 5 lbs already, but I'm still at the heaviest I've ever been. I'd like to lost 10% of my body weight but I'm initially aiming at 5% and we'll see how that goes. That would take me to 206 lbs.

I would like to exercise 3 times a week, so I'm going to try and record that here, and my weight loss.

I will also begin the folic acid again. I'm on 1000mg of Metformin, which has some unpleasant side effects but I'm hoping it will help.